Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick: Review, Pics, Swatches

2014-05-06 04.18.55 (480x360)

 

Press Sample

 

The new Too Faced Liquified Long Wear Lipsticks are the best invention since the IPhone. Remember when a cell phone looked like this? Michael Douglas looked pretty hunky back then too.

080224-phoneThe new and improved version:

iphone-5-2012-09-14-600-18

Lipsticks have been evolving throughout the years too. First we had a waxy stick in a tube, then sticky glosses came along, then lip stains, then liquid lipsticks. The creative genius and founder of Too Faced, Jerrod Blandino has created Melted; a combination of stain, liquid lipstick and gloss. With Melted you get the staying power of a stain, the intense color of a liquid lipstick and the high shine of a gloss. Like I said, genius! I love it when a designer makes something ordinary into something extraordinary and that’s exactly what Too Faced has accomplished with Melted.

2014-05-06 04.20.53 (480x360)

Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipsticks are available in six shades:

Are these shades are bold and richly saturated–not for the beauty that prefers a tint or just a hint of color. If you have never tried a liquid lipstick, you may find the formula unusual . While I wouldn’t say they are hydrating, they are not drying enough to need a gloss on top either. The finish is a demi-matte and while I see some glossiness, it is definitely not the high shine of a liquid lipstick. Melted lipsticks  glide on lips easily depositing even color–I HATE lipsticks that apply streaky; it’s just unacceptable in my beauty book.

The shades I like best are Melted Peony and Melted Coral (of course). I’m loving Peony for everyday and Coral for a bright summery pop of color. Coral is so bright on my pale lips it’s almost fluorescent! After using these for a few weeks I would like to add a few more to my collection: most likely nude and fuchsia.  Not only is the color vibrant, but it lasts for a good 4 -5 hours and even after eating leaves a nice, even stain. These colors scream summer and brighten up your face beautifully. I think there is at least one match for every skin tone. I hope Too Faced makes these a permanent addition to the line and adds more colors.–maybe a real peach and some darker vampy shades?

2014-05-06 04.23.09 (480x359)

Normally I love the Too Faced packaging for its sweet girly designs, this time I’m loving it for the practicality. Melted lipsticks come in a squeeze tube with a soft slanted applicator. Just a little squeeze and the lipstick is extruded through four tiny holes allowing for precision application and no need for a lip liner! They glide on lips easily depositing even color–I HATE lipsticks that apply streaky; it’s just unacceptable in my beauty book.  They also do not emphasize nor cause dryness which is great for us over 40 ladies!

2014-05-06 04.21.20 (480x359)

 

2014-05-06 04.21.52 (480x359)

Bottom Line: Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipsticks are non-drying and long wearing with a lively shade selection. They are comfortable to wear and have a fabulous delivery system. Highly recommended! Thank you Too Faced for improving upon a girl’s best friend–lipstick!

For awesome lip swatches of all the shades, check out Phyrra’s post here.

 

  • Kim

    I want these badly.

  • these are gorgeous colors and i totally want to try them!

  • They look awesome in color and the applicator is a big +

    • The applicator makes it so easy.

  • I seriously need these in my life. They look absolutely to die for. Great post!!

  • I really want these!

  • So gorg! I neeeeeeeeeeeed these DESPERATELY! <3

    • You need to try at least one.

  • These sound so so good :)

  • I am lusting after these lippies so hard. Once the budget loosens up a little… Mine! 😀

  • I love these, so pretty!

  • These really sound great – like you, I hope they add more colors! I would love this in a rich plum.

    • Plum sounds awesome!

  • omg at that old phone hahahaha kids today would never believe it. That being said, I’m obsessed with these “lipsticks” by Too Faced! I bought four of them and I am strongly considering the other two!

    • Yeah, the good ‘ol cell phone brick. Seriously, all the shades are gorge!

  • I’ve heard such great things about these lippies!

  • I reviewed Ruby and Peony and I thought they were both really nice colors! But I really love liquid lipsticks. Hate lip gloss. Love liquid lippies. 😀

    • Ruby looks beautiful!

  • Thank you for linking to me! I love these :)

    • I know you do and I totally trust your opinion!

  • I wonder how well the sponge tip holds up over the lifetime of the tube. I’m really digging all the shades I see of these.

  • I bought Peony and I love it. It’s become my favorite lip color. Even my sister who is very picky about lips thinks it’s wonderful. Since she always borrows my makeup (never to be returned) I’m hiding it from her.

    • I think Peony is perfect for everyone!

  • For some reason these didn’t look very nice on me.

    • Too matte maybe? I have noticed you only need a tiny bit, I put too much on the first time and wow–NEON!

  • I have Peony and Violet and I LOVE THEM!

  • I’m obsessed with these, I need to get my hands on them!!

  • Just give me ALLLL the Melteds!!!

  • I own 4 of them and have decided I need the whole set. Great review!

  • That old school cell phone – lol!

  • My favorite lippie right now. These ARE the best thing since the IPhone… =)

    • Thanks, I think so too!

  • that pink is so pretty!

    • I love this shade for everyday wear.

  • Pingback: Beauty Spotlight Team’s links and meet our new member()

  • Sooooooo pretty!!!!!!!! I must buy these NOW!

  • Pingback: Tales of Adventure from the Beauty Spotlight Team! Stealth Concealer, Magic Powder and More! | The Painted Rogue()

  • Pingback: The Beauty Spotlight Team Round-Up for May 11th, 2014()

  • I’ve heard so many great things about these! Definitely itching to pick up one or two when they finally become available across the pond (it usually takes a while…)!

    • Let me know if you need me to pick some for you Sunny.

  • I’m hoping for vampier things in this formula too! 😀 They sound great, and I love the colour of Melted Violet especially from what I’ve seen, but I want a nice bloody, burgundy red and a true deep purple too 😉