Tarte Rainforest After Dark Fall 2014: Review, Pics, Swatches

2014-08-05 00.38.39 (474x480) The Fall 2014 Tarte Rainforest After Dark Collection is fabulous and the star attraction of the collection is the Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye and Cheek Palette ($38). It was created to capture the orchid hues of the Rainforest at sunset.  2014-08-05 00.40.38 (480x418) This limited edition palette includes a highlighter, bronzer, blush and six eyeshadows:

  • Highlighter in Champagne 
  • Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess
  • Blush in Unleashed (nude rose) 
  • Bare to Explore (pink beige)
  • Make a Mauve (plum mauve)
  • Plum Away with Me (dark plum)
  • Up to No Gold (gold)
  • Tan-gled Up in You (tan)
  • Don’t Turn A-Brown (dark brown) 
  • Step-by-Step Glamour Guide 

Tarte has created a gorgeous palette for fall, in fact I feel this is the best palette tarte has offered since the Aqualillies palette from last summer. 2014-08-05 00.43.10 (480x360) The face products are wonderful staples like the awesome Champagne shimmery highlighter,  the fabulous Park Ave. Princess, a matte bronzer which is must-have for pale girls (I’ve been through 3 compacts) and a new shade of amazonian clay blush, Unleashed. Unleashed is a dusty plum, but the texture is so hard it does not grab the brush at all. It is SO densely packed, I had to scrape it a little bit to get anything to stick to the brush and show up on my face. When I did get the blush to appear, it was more of a pinky peach on me. Honestly, this irritates me as I don’t expect to have to scrape ANYTHING  from a reliable brand like tarte and at this price. That said, the rest of the palette is so amazing I can forgive.

Champagne, Park Ave. Princess & Unleashed Blush

Champagne, Park Ave. Princess & Unleashed Blush

The eye shadows are richly pigmented with a mix of matte and satin finishes and they apply beautifully. All the shades have a creamy, silky texture with the standouts being Plum Away With Me and Up To No Gold. The palette has a lot of purple shades leaning toward cool but no worries, there is something for us warm girls too. Purple seems to be right on trend for fall, making this palette a good choice.

Tarte Rainforest Palette

Bare to Explore, Make a Mauve, Plum Away with Me

Bare to Explore is a warm, matte pinky beige that is close to my skin tone; great for a base or blending shade. Make a Mauve is a cool medium purple, Plum Away With Me is a cool, rich, dark plum with shimmer, Up To No Gold is a warm peachy gold with a metallic finish and my fav of the bunch. It can be applied heavily for a metallic sheen or applied lightly to brighten the eyes or even wet as an eyeliner. Tan-gled Up in You is warm matte tan and Don’t Turn A-Brown is a matte cool-toned deep brown. I got no fallout with any of the shades–yay!!

Tarte Rainforest

Up to no Gold, Tan-gled Up in You, Don’t Turn A-Brown

Since gold and purple are royal colors, it’s no surprise that this combination results in a sophisticated and opulent look. If you prefer softer more muted looks, this palette can accomplish that too. For this look, I applied Bare to Explore all the lid up to the brow bone, Up To No Gold on the lid and Plum Me Away in the crease. The mascara is tarte Faux, also part of the Rainforest collection. I will review that in a separate post. 2014-08-05 02.15.21 (480x322)   2014-08-05 02.15.29 (480x341) Bottom Line: Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye and Cheek Palette is a great palette for fall. Aside from the texture of the blush being a bit hard, everything else in the palette is fantastic. It can easily move from day to night, soft to sultry. I’m looking forward to trying more combinations and looks with it!

Pin It
  • http://www.neversaydiebeauty.com Allison@neversaydiebeauty

    What lovely shades for fall! I especially love that gold

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      This gold would look great with your coloring, it’s not too yellow.

  • http://beautyjudy.com BeautyJudy

    That eye look brings out the blue in your eyes like POW! Up to No Gold is beautiful.

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      I’d love to have a single of Up to No Gold!

  • http://behappyandbuypolish.wordpress.com Jessica

    I just picked this palette up this past weekend and I freakin’ love it already!

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      It grabs you right away doesn’t it?

  • http://www.manifestdestany.com Destany

    Love the packaging. Those colors look great on you :)

  • Cindi

    I have had my eye on that palette ever since I first saw it last week. I think that may come home to live with me. Those colors are perfect for my skintone. Plus, this is a great all in 1 set for travel too. All I need is a lipstick, a mascara and a couple of brushes and I’m set. I can’t lie, either, that little snake on the lid with the amethyst jewel on it’s head – so in love with that too.

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      You’re right, it’s perfect for travel–there is a lot in this palette for $38!!

  • http://www.beautybymissl.com Leelo R

    I love shades in this palette and I love the look you created!

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      I can’t wait for fall to wear all these purples!

  • http://www.phyrra.net/ Phyrra

    I love that gold!

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      It’s my favorite of the palette, so much you can do with it!

  • http://daydreamingbeauty.com Amber

    Love the look you created! I love this palette!

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      I love, love this gold!

  • http://glamorable.com Anastasia

    I just received that palette in the mail, it looks fab! Great review <3

  • http://www.hairsprayandhighheels.net Ange

    I ordered this the other day, can’t wait to get it!!

  • http://beautylitfromwithin.blogspot.com Nidia – Lit From Within

    I didn’t have to scrape the blush in my palette. I wonder if you got a bad batch. I love it, and the colors are gorgeous.

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      Could be, a friend had the same problem with the blush so I thought it was worth mentioning. Glad yours was okay!

  • http://www.slashedbeauty.com Miranda

    Love the plummy shades for fall!

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      Me too!!

  • http://www.beautyinfozone.com MarciaF (beauty info zone)

    What a beauty. Lisa reviewed it on our blog and I had jealousy written all over my face.

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      Haha

  • http://www.clumpsofmascara.com Brittany

    These look better than I thought they would. Now I can’t WAIT to haul this palette!

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      Yes, it the pictures it all looks so dark!

  • http://mynewestaddiction.com Laura My Newest Addiction

    this palette is my favorite!

  • Betzy Carmona

    I really love how unique this palette is

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      Love the mix of shades.

  • http://www.thefabzilla.com Kath TheFabZilla

    I like the shades in this palette…and that snake can’t be missed!

  • http://www.honeygirlsworld.com Honeygirlk

    I’ve been eyeing this palette and I wish I took advantage of the F&F sale… I opted out and now I’m having regrets and withdrawls. lol

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      I do that too, talk myself out of something and then regret it.

  • http://www.painted-ladies.com Sheila

    The palette is just beautiful.

  • http://www.blushingnoir.com Brooke @ Blushing Noir

    This is one of my fave palettes ever from Tarte! The shades are perfection!

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      I agree!

  • http://www.justinasgems.com Justina

    I freaking LOVE this palette!

  • http://www.citizensofbeauty.com Kendra

    I think that these are all great colors. It’s also so easy to use on vacation.

  • http://www.theplasticdiaries.com/ Kimmi @ The Plastic Diaries

    Very pretty. I love that gold shade.

  • http://www.CosmeticSanctuary.com Lisa Heath

    Love love LOVE this palette! Great review!

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      I do too, I was surprised how much I loved the colors!

  • http://www.cosmetically-challenged.com Melody Wright

    You’re the first person I’ve seen that has swatches that make me want to buy this palette. All others I’ve seen look washed out.

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      Yay! I love to enable you heehee

  • http://www.stephanielouiseatb.blogspot.com Stepanie Louise

    SO pretty! I definitely want to snap this one up!

    • http://www.primebeautyblog.net cindy

      You would look beautiful in these shades!