Tarte Rainforest After Dark Fall 2014: Review, Pics, Swatches

2014-08-05 00.38.39 (474x480) The Fall 2014 Tarte Rainforest After Dark Collection is fabulous and the star attraction of the collection is the Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye and Cheek Palette ($38). It was created to capture the orchid hues of the Rainforest at sunset.  2014-08-05 00.40.38 (480x418) This limited edition palette includes a highlighter, bronzer, blush and six eyeshadows:

  • Highlighter in Champagne 
  • Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess
  • Blush in Unleashed (nude rose) 
  • Bare to Explore (pink beige)
  • Make a Mauve (plum mauve)
  • Plum Away with Me (dark plum)
  • Up to No Gold (gold)
  • Tan-gled Up in You (tan)
  • Don’t Turn A-Brown (dark brown) 
  • Step-by-Step Glamour Guide 

Tarte has created a gorgeous palette for fall, in fact I feel this is the best palette tarte has offered since the Aqualillies palette from last summer. 2014-08-05 00.43.10 (480x360) The face products are wonderful staples like the awesome Champagne shimmery highlighter,  the fabulous Park Ave. Princess, a matte bronzer which is must-have for pale girls (I’ve been through 3 compacts) and a new shade of amazonian clay blush, Unleashed. Unleashed is a dusty plum, but the texture is so hard it does not grab the brush at all. It is SO densely packed, I had to scrape it a little bit to get anything to stick to the brush and show up on my face. When I did get the blush to appear, it was more of a pinky peach on me. Honestly, this irritates me as I don’t expect to have to scrape ANYTHING  from a reliable brand like tarte and at this price. That said, the rest of the palette is so amazing I can forgive.

Champagne, Park Ave. Princess & Unleashed Blush

Champagne, Park Ave. Princess & Unleashed Blush

The eye shadows are richly pigmented with a mix of matte and satin finishes and they apply beautifully. All the shades have a creamy, silky texture with the standouts being Plum Away With Me and Up To No Gold. The palette has a lot of purple shades leaning toward cool but no worries, there is something for us warm girls too. Purple seems to be right on trend for fall, making this palette a good choice.

Tarte Rainforest Palette

Bare to Explore, Make a Mauve, Plum Away with Me

Bare to Explore is a warm, matte pinky beige that is close to my skin tone; great for a base or blending shade. Make a Mauve is a cool medium purple, Plum Away With Me is a cool, rich, dark plum with shimmer, Up To No Gold is a warm peachy gold with a metallic finish and my fav of the bunch. It can be applied heavily for a metallic sheen or applied lightly to brighten the eyes or even wet as an eyeliner. Tan-gled Up in You is warm matte tan and Don’t Turn A-Brown is a matte cool-toned deep brown. I got no fallout with any of the shades–yay!!

Tarte Rainforest

Up to no Gold, Tan-gled Up in You, Don’t Turn A-Brown

Since gold and purple are royal colors, it’s no surprise that this combination results in a sophisticated and opulent look. If you prefer softer more muted looks, this palette can accomplish that too. For this look, I applied Bare to Explore all the lid up to the brow bone, Up To No Gold on the lid and Plum Me Away in the crease. The mascara is tarte Faux, also part of the Rainforest collection. I will review that in a separate post. 2014-08-05 02.15.21 (480x322)   2014-08-05 02.15.29 (480x341) Bottom Line: Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye and Cheek Palette is a great palette for fall. Aside from the texture of the blush being a bit hard, everything else in the palette is fantastic. It can easily move from day to night, soft to sultry. I’m looking forward to trying more combinations and looks with it!

Pin It
From our partners

Comments

  1. What lovely shades for fall! I especially love that gold

  2. That eye look brings out the blue in your eyes like POW! Up to No Gold is beautiful.

  3. I just picked this palette up this past weekend and I freakin’ love it already!

  4. Love the packaging. Those colors look great on you :)

  5. I have had my eye on that palette ever since I first saw it last week. I think that may come home to live with me. Those colors are perfect for my skintone. Plus, this is a great all in 1 set for travel too. All I need is a lipstick, a mascara and a couple of brushes and I’m set. I can’t lie, either, that little snake on the lid with the amethyst jewel on it’s head – so in love with that too.

  6. I love shades in this palette and I love the look you created!

  7. I love that gold!

  8. Love the look you created! I love this palette!

  9. I just received that palette in the mail, it looks fab! Great review <3

  10. I ordered this the other day, can’t wait to get it!!

  11. I didn’t have to scrape the blush in my palette. I wonder if you got a bad batch. I love it, and the colors are gorgeous.

  12. Love the plummy shades for fall!

  13. What a beauty. Lisa reviewed it on our blog and I had jealousy written all over my face.

  14. These look better than I thought they would. Now I can’t WAIT to haul this palette!

  15. this palette is my favorite!

  16. Betzy Carmona says:

    I really love how unique this palette is

  17. I like the shades in this palette…and that snake can’t be missed!

  18. I’ve been eyeing this palette and I wish I took advantage of the F&F sale… I opted out and now I’m having regrets and withdrawls. lol

  19. The palette is just beautiful.

  20. This is one of my fave palettes ever from Tarte! The shades are perfection!

  21. I freaking LOVE this palette!

  22. I think that these are all great colors. It’s also so easy to use on vacation.

  23. Very pretty. I love that gold shade.

  24. Love love LOVE this palette! Great review!

  25. You’re the first person I’ve seen that has swatches that make me want to buy this palette. All others I’ve seen look washed out.

  26. SO pretty! I definitely want to snap this one up!

Speak Your Mind

*