Makeup Wars: Best Summer Foundation

 photo complexion-fixers.jpg
This week the girls from Makeup Wars are choosing the best summer foundations. Most beauties will want to change from their winter foundation during the hot and humid months. My choice is IT Cosmetics Anti-Aging CC Cream with SPF 50+. At the end of this post, click on the linky to see what the other girls chose.

 

2013-06-20 01.00.39

Within the last few years, the popularity of BB creams has exploded and now we are seeing CC and soon DD creams! So what’t the diff? The difference between BB (beauty balm) and CC creams is subtle–CC generally stands for “color correcting” and the products are meant to address issues like redness or sallowness (usually with light-diffusing particles), whereas BB creams are more like a tinted moisturizer with a few skincare benefits thrown in. The term “BB” cream has been diluted to the point of exhaustion–every cosmetics counter, Sephora and drugstore has a plethora of BB creams on display. See my original post of what a BB cream is and where they came from.

Actually the advent of CC creams (if formulated properly) is great news for over 40 gals like us; at least this one is!  IT Cosmetics Anti-Aging CC Cream with SPF 50+ is a full-coverage color-correcting cream, anti-aging serum, and broad-spectrum SPF 50+ all in one! It is richly pigmented and won’t crease or crack in fine lines, giving your skin a beautiful soft focus finish. It has a satin finish which I definitely recommend for over 40 women. A matte finish settles into lines and a dewy finish just looks oily in my opinion. I realize opinions may vary on this, but I’M right! LOL

Leave it to Jamie Kerns to formulate a CC cream perfect for over 40 women. She loves us and I’m glad she does! This CC cream is very moisturizing making it ideal for drier skins. Unless you have extremely dry skin you won’t need moisturizer underneath–a step you can skip. In fact, you can skip moisturizer, serum, and sunscreen too! This will save you serious time in the morning beauties.

2013-06-20 01.01.45

The list of  ingredients is highly impressive including  niacin; algae; vitamins A, C, B, and E; hyaluronic acid; and hydrolyzed collagen, along with antioxidants and exotic botanicals for brightening and color-correcting benefits. BB creams cannot compare to the anti-aging benefits packed into this CC cream.

After discovering IT Cosmetics Anti-Aging CC Cream with SPF 50, I much prefer this CC cream to ANY BB cream and here’s why:

  • tons of anti-aging ingredients
  • full coverage for redness, scarring, dark spots, etc
  • highly moisturizing
  • beautiful satin finish
  • SPF 50!
  • blends beautifully

Most BB and CC creams come in only two shades.   IT Cosmetics Anti-Aging CC Cream is available in 5 shades: Fair, Light, Medium, Tan and Rich. I was sent Light to try and it works very well with my skin tone–I do add bronzer on top just for some summer color.

Packaging is a tube with a pump. I like this type of packaging because when you start getting low on product, you can still squeeze the tube to get at the rest.

2013-06-20 01.01.18

My FOTD (face of the day) with It Cosmetics Anti-Aging Full Coverage CC Cream in light.

2013-06-27 21.54.05 (480x360)

Other products used:

Buxom Hot Escapes Bronzer in Tahiti, reviewed here

Too Faced Sweethearts Blush, reviewed here

BECCA Sun Chaser Eye Shadow Quad (review coming soon)

Lancome Jade Crush Kohl In Love Eyeliner, reviewed here

CoverGirl Flamed Out Mascara as base, reviewed here

DiorShow Mascara on top

IT Cosmetics Vitality Flush Lip Butter in Pretty In Pink, reviewed here

Bottom Line: It Cosmetics Anti-Aging Full Coverage CC Cream is a dream come true for us over 40 gals. It’s got great coverage, is highly moisturizing, blends well, is available in a variety of shades and looks completely natural! I give it a Prime Beauty grade of A!

 

Click the links below to see what my blogger friends chose as their favorite complexion fixer!

Pin It

Comments

  1. I love it when a BB or CC cream come n multiple shades! I liked Korean ones but their shades were always so light!

  2. Love IT Cosmetics–need to check out this CC Cream!

  3. IT Cosmetics again! This has to be a must have since you all love it so much lol I can’t believe I haven’t tried it yet!

  4. Your skin looks fantastic!

  5. Lorraine says:

    OK this packaging is genius! other companies should take note! WHere is IT cosmetics available?

  6. I haven’t tried this one yet, but I know I do need to. Sounds great!

  7. It looks beautiful on you Cindy! I got this a few weeks ago, and have been loving it as well. Such a nice multi tasking product! :)

  8. Absolutely love the It Cosmetics CC+ cream. I’ve worn it to a wedding even. The coverage is fabulous.

  9. I really really want to try this!

  10. Everyone seems to love this CC Cream!

  11. The formulation of the IT Cosmetics CC Cream really is amazing! :) It looks reallly nice on you! :)

  12. You look beautiful! Gonna have to try this CC cream

  13. This looks amazing, I really need to try it!

  14. Sounds like I need to try this out. I am using Bare Minerals Ready in Fairly Light so do you think the Light is the color I need to order? Fair seems to be too light and medium maybe a tad too dark?

  15. mary kay says:

    Just curious if you have tried the IT Bye Bye Under Eye, and if so, what you thought. I had heard such great things about it, but tried and it creased terribly and made me look older than 52. Not what I wanted. I still may give the CC cream a go. Thank you.

Speak Your Mind

*