Michael Todd Soniclear Sonic Cleansing Brush Review!

2014-11-22 02.14.49 (480x416) Press Sample

 

This week’s Makeup Wars is all about beauty devices. Granted there are a ton on the market today, but the only one I have tried recently that works is the Michael Todd Soniclear ($150) so I will focus on that for this edition of Makeup Wars. My Clarisonic finally died after six years so I have been in the market for a replacement. Although I originally liked my Clarisonic, even the sensitive brush was too harsh for my over 40 aging skin. It got to the point that I could only use it a few times a week. This time around I wanted something that was gentle on my skin but really cleaned my pores. In the past I have tried battery-operated versions but they just don’t seem to offer the results I’m looking for. When I am looking to buy something new I do my research. After comparing lots of different brands, I decided the only Sonic brush that was comparable to Clarisonic was the Michael Todd Soniclear. As fate would have it, I was offered the Soniclear to review the same week I was planning on buying it! The key benefits of the Soniclear are:

  • World’s first antimicrobial sonic skin cleansing brush
  • 6 speeds (3 for facial and 3 for body)
  • Includes facial brush AND large body brush
  • Waterproof
  • Includes docking station and charger

The Soniclear itself is very well made and the design well thought out. It is well balanced (not too top or bottom heavy) and it’s waterproof. I keep mine in the shower so I really appreciate the rubber grips on the side for a non-slip hold. 2014-11-22 02.06.09 (480x360)
Unlike my previous brush, these brush heads are soft and don’t irritate my sensitive skin. I also find this brush to be more pliable and therefore able to get around my nose (where I have large pores) better. A huge benefit is the Soniclear antimicrobial brush head; there’s no chance of re-contamination if your brush is loaded with bacteria from old makeup or dirt and that keeps your skin clearer. And get this–the antimicrobial protection has built in LIFE protection! Your brushes last longer saving you money! The Soniclear also comes with a large body brush is large to cover a bigger area in a smaller amount of time.  2014-11-22 02.39.00 (480x360)
Another unique feature of the Soniclear is it’s six speed controls (3 for face, and 3 for body). The brush automatically detects which brush head is in use and the timer runs accordingly: 2 minutes for face, and 3 for body with beeps at regular intervals to let you know to move on to the next area. The brush heads are extremely easy to change–just pop them on and off! I use the highest speed on my face and at 300+ micro-massage movements per second, plus the Michael Todd Charcoal Detox Cleanser ($23), the Soniclear does an awesome job of deep cleaning pores with no irritation. The charcoal detox cleanser unclog pores with gentle exfoliation. Activated Charcoal is widely known for its ability to effectively cleanser the skin, unclog pores and remove deeper impurities and dead skin cells. Beneficial for all skin types, this powerful formula has antioxidants and tea tree along with other essential oils that provide anti-aging and blemish healing properties including treatment of acne and rosacea. It’s even sulfate free!

2014-11-22 02.49.10 (480x360)

 Your Soniclear comes with a charging cradle—no more batteries! It does not have metal contacts to corrode  in a steamy bathroom. Before use, charge for 24 hours on the cradle, a full charge last 35 minutesof continuous use. I don’t even use the full two minutes on my face–I feel one minute at the highest speed deep cleans really well. Therefore, a full 35 minutes will last a long time. It also comes with a Two Year Warranty.

2014-11-22 02.05.16 (432x480)

It’s been a few months since my last facial, and I can see an improvement in my skin after just a few days of using the Soniclear and Charcoal Dextox cleanser. I’ve been using it once a day and my skin feels smoother and after a few weeks, I swear my pores look smaller. 

Bottom Line: I am extremely impressed with the Soniclear. It’s well made, smartly designed and highly effective.  If you want an efficient and powerful skincare system that will have your skin glowing in no time, get a Soniclear!

  • Okay. Now I am waffling between this and a Clarisonic. Thank you for further complicating my life. 😉 LOL

    • You’re welcome! LOL

  • I definitely love the design on this brush!

  • I keep seeing this brush system everywhere, I need to try it. The cleanser sounds great, too!

    • It’s def worth a try!

  • Great detailed review! I passed on the Clarisonic because I was afraid it was too much for my sensitive skin, but I’m excited about getting a chance to try this brush system!

    • This is definitely more gentle on my skin than the Clarisonic

  • People do seem to love that brush!

  • I’m very happy with this brush plus it has the body attachment which I’ve never had before.

    • I love the body brush!

  • It sounds like something I should try! Great review!

    • You definitely need to try it!

  • Sounds like a great cleansing brush.

  • Cleansing brushes are sooooo awesome! I like how it comes i purple!

  • Ooooohhhh I totally want. I love that it is purple. I am obsessed with my Clarisonic currently, but I want this!!!

    • I like this better than my old Clarisonic–my skin feels cleaner

  • I can’t wait to try this!

  • I’m just getting ready to test this product. Looking forward to it!

    • I think you’re going to like it!

  • Ohhh I def need to try out a good body brush!

  • These brushes make a hell of a difference with good skin!

    • I saw a difference with the Soniclear in just a few days!

  • I love brush cleaning systems.

    • This is my favorite!

  • I have the Clarisonic and opt for brush made for sensitive skin. This sounds like a nice alternative

  • I have a cheap battery-powered one, but you’re right, they just aren’t the same. This sounds like a great brush!

  • This sounds great! I love charcoal for pulling out all kinds of skin impurities.

  • That looks so nice!

  • Good to know that it’s comparable to Clarisonic!

  • I have been loving this brush!

  • Jess Scull

    This sounds pretty awesome – great review!

  • Betzy Carmona

    I’ve been dying to try this bad boy 😀

    • I’m really, really liking it!

  • Mai

    I like that this brush is anti-bacterial, especially when it’s in contact with your skin constantly!

  • This looks awesome!!!