Ipsy Glam Bag Review for October 2013

2013-10-20 05.11.21 (480x340)

The theme for the Ipsy Glam Bag for October is The Art of Beauty. The cute bag has the famous Ralph Waldo Emerson quote “Love f beauty is taste.  The creation of beauty is art.” It’s quite cute but again, it’s white and I’m afraid will get dirty quickly.

2013-10-20 05.12.58 (480x360)

Big Sexy Hair Blow Dry Volumizing Gel ($5) - I love anything that gives my hair volume and I used to use this before I started testing so many other brands, so I’m happy to receive it.

Full size Zoya Nail Polish ($8) in Neve. I adore Zoya polish, they have pretty and unique colors and wear like iron. Neve is a beautiful metallic blue.

Zoya Neve

Zoya Neve

Coastal Scents Medium Shadow Brush ($3). I don’t mind getting brushes in my bag at all!  I have a lot of brushes but always seem to lack basic eyeshadow brushes. This one is nice because it’s wide so it’s great for packing on lid color, but can be used for the brow bone and the crease too. I starting using it immediately!

CoastalScents Eyeshadow brush

Wet n Wild Photo Op Eyeshadow ($5)- this is part of the Fergie Centerstage Collection. I can tell Ipsy is listening because these are my favorite shades to wear on my eyes. The mix of shimmer and matte is nice and the all the shades are pigmented. I don’t, however, care for the bright orange shade–I can see it looking good on anyone. Overall though, this is a nice little palette.

2013-10-20 05.14.41 (480x360)

 

2013-10-20 05.16.49 (480x360)

La Fresh Eco-Beauty Oil-Free Face Cleanser Wipes ($3) – these are too drying for my skin. If you have oily for combo skin I can see these working well. They come 10 wipes to a pack, are biodegradable, compostable and packaged using clean, renewal solar energy. Paraben-free. I’ve been using them when swatching.

Fresh Makeup Wipes

 

Bottom Line: overall another good bag from Ipsy. They have been the only consistent beauty box subscription I’ve tried which is why I will continue. The October Art of Beauty bag has a value of $24 for $10.

The Ipsy Glam Bag is $10/month and contains 4-5 beauty products personalized to your profile, determined by a beauty/style quiz. Not everyone gets the same products!

Ipsy now has a referral program, you can collect points for referring people, my link is here if you chose to use it. You can also get points for reviewing the products you received.  Every time you fill out a simple 5 question survey you get 10 points.  Collect 1,000 points and you can cash it is for awesome products!

Pin It

Comments

  1. Oh man. Your bag as loads better than mine. I’m kinda jealous!

  2. Great bag, this time. This looks like a fun program. Ipsy had a really rough start but they seem to have pulled it together and are making a success of it, now. :)

  3. As an over 40 gal, I was so curious to see what you got your ipsy bag! I have red hair so they sent me the Zoya in Giovanna, a gorgeous emerald. I also got the volumizing gel that’s useless for me, and the LA Fresh wipes that are fine for my super-dry skin but are also useless because they don’t remove eye makeup. I wish I got that makeup brush because I needed it. Instead of the Fergie palette, I got a pink Starlooks lipliner that I really like, and 2 small tubes of Nourish Organics coconut hand/body lotion that I love. All in all, I’m satisfied! And thank you for identifying the quote. I didn’t know it was Emerson, I’m embarrassed to say especially since I live not far from Concord!

    • Some months are better than other, but of all the beauty subscriptions out there, I find Ipsy to be the most consistent and the best bang for the buck!

      P.S.-I kinda wanted to lotion instead of the WnW palette. Wouldn’t it be great if Ipsy could institute a trade option like Little Black Bag? THAT would be awesome!

  4. I just wrote up my review to be published soon and I can’t believe how our bags are almost identical. I got a different hair product, that’s all. I’m happy with this month’s bag.

Speak Your Mind

*