Charlotte Tilbury Fallen Angel Eye Shadow Palette: Review, Pics, Swatches!

2015-01-06 04.45.36 (480x477)

Purchased by me

 

The Charlotte Tilbury Fallen Angel Eyeshadow Palette ($65.00) is a limited edition palette that was released for Holiday 2014. Sorry this review is a little late, but the palette is still available on Nordstrom.com and you just may want to start clicking! This palette is stunning with good color payoff, easy blendability and long wear. I love the combination of colors, the finishes and the texture of each eye shadow. Charlotte Tilbury numbers her shadows and names them according to where you are supposed to place them.

The palette consists of four warm neutral-ish shades:

  • #1 (Prime) s a pale golden pearl with a shimmery finish
  • #2  (Enhance) is a silvery taupe with a shimmery finish
  • #3  (Pop) is a coppery bronze with a metallic finish (my personal fav)
  • #4 (Smoke) is a medium satin black. It’s a soft black making it perfect for over 40 eyes!

2015-01-06 04.46.22 (480x320)

From Charlotte:

“I have de-coded the secrets to iconic, mesmerizing eyes with my Color-Coded Eyeshadow Palettes. Each one contains four harmonious shades that offer a complete “desk to disco” eye color wardrobe and an easy to use application ritual that is fail-safe to follow. It’s my artistry made easy.”

Fallen Star is a new formula for the line. The luxury formula It is a wet/dry formula and is supposed to have a “rich and buildable layer of color” when applied dry and a “liquid metal reflective finish” when applied wet. I found this to be very true. When used dry, the color applies very sheer, I needed to apply three layers to get the color intensity I desired.  Applied with a damp brush, the colors take on a more metallic finish (as opposed to shimmery) and you need less product. Being able to use the palette wet or dry gives it more versatility to create more looks.

2015-01-06 04.49.57 (480x342)

 

2015-01-06 04.57.23 (480x408)

For this look I applied the palette dry: Shade #1 to the brow bone and inside corner, #2 all over the lid and under the lash line, #3 in the crease and #4 to line. All the shadows blend easily and have great buttery texture–no powder poofs here. Shade #3 is my favorite in the palette and it takes on teh most dramatic change when applied wet–a high metallic shine. I also like that shade #4, the black shade,  is soft and not too harsh for over 40 eyes. It was also incredibly easy to blend and smoke out. The entire palette is very easy to work with with no fading or fallout–even the black shade. Yippee!

2015-01-16 22.49.14 (480x465)

2015-01-16 22.50.04 (480x154)

 

Here is Charlotte’s “desk to disco” instructions:

desk-to-disco_1

The limited edition packaging is pretty with stars covering the compact and embossed on the shadows, however the stars on the shadows will only last through two uses. The compact is the same size as her regular eye shadow palettes, however, Fallen Angel is more expensive at $65 vs. $52. I assume that this is because of the new wet/dry formula but it’s annoying all the same.

2015-01-16 22.51.17 (480x385)

 

2015-01-16 22.55.49 (480x438)

 

Charlotte Tilbury Fallen Angel palette on eyes, Sephora + Pantone Universe Marsala on cheeks, NARS Dolce Vita gloss on lips.

 

Bottom LineThe Charlotte Tilbury Fallen Angel Eyeshadow Palette truly can take you from day to night. The neutral shades are on the warm and shimmery side so if you are strictly a cool-toned gal, you may want to skip this one. The palette presents lots of options for sophisticated eye combinations. I’m disappointed with the price increase (and see no real reason for it) but I love the palette and the new formula so much I won’t gripe TOO much. This works for the office and I can apply wet and really amp it up for all those celebrity parties I go to!

What are your thought on this palette?